ElevenLabs vs Murf AI: Text-to-Speech Comparison
Compare ElevenLabs and Murf AI on pricing, voices, features, and which text-to-speech platform fits your needs.

On this page
At a glance
ElevenLabs and Murf AI both provide text-to-speech platforms aimed at creators, developers, and enterprises, but they differ in pricing structure, feature set, and technical approach. ElevenLabs uses a credit-based model across multiple tools, while Murf AI separates pricing by product tier and offers pay-as-you-go options. Both support multilingual voice generation and API integration.
| Aspect | ElevenLabs | Murf AI |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Creators needing multiple tools in one credit system | Developers prioritizing API speed and conversational agents |
| Main features | Text to Speech, Dubbing Studio, Voice Cloning, Sound Effects, Music | Conversational Agents, TTS API, Studio voiceovers, Dubbing |
| Free plan | Yes: 10,000 credits/month | Yes: limited trial, no commercial license |
| Starting price | $6/month (Starter) | $19/month (Creator, annual billing) |
| Integrations | API available across plans | API designed for real-time agents |
| Languages supported | 74 languages | 35+ languages |
| Voice count | 500+ voices | 200+ expressive voices |
ElevenLabs: strengths and limits
ElevenLabs structures its offering around a unified credit pool. The Free plan grants 10,000 credits monthly. The Starter plan costs $6 per month and includes 30,000 credits plus a commercial license. The Creator tier costs $22 per month (or $11 for the first month) and expands to 121,000 credits, including professional voice cloning and dubbing access.
The strength of ElevenLabs lies in feature breadth. One credit allocation covers text-to-speech output, speech-to-text transcription, sound effects generation, voice isolation, voice changing, music production, and automatic dubbing. This pooled approach allows users to allocate spending between tools based on monthly needs. The platform supports 74 languages and offers 500+ voices. The company describes its Eleven v4 model as more emotionally expressive than previous versions.
Higher-tier plans provide incrementally better audio quality and concurrent request limits. The Pro plan costs $99 per month and includes 600,000 credits and 44.1kHz PCM output via API. The Scale plan costs $299 per month and adds team collaboration for 3 seats and 1.8 million monthly credits. The Business plan costs $990 per month and extends to 10 seats and 6 million credits.
A limitation is that the credit model can feel opaque for new users estimating total cost. Text-to-speech costs 1 credit per character for the V2 Multilingual model, but speech-to-text costs 330 credits per minute, and dubbing ranges from 2,000 to 10,000 credits per minute depending on studio options. Users cannot purchase additional credits on demand under the free and lower-tier plans; they must wait for the next billing cycle.
Murf AI: strengths and limits
Murf AI positions itself as a platform for conversational agents and real-time voice interactions. The company reports sub-100ms time-to-first-audio latency with its Falcon 2 API and states it is ranked among the most natural on third-party benchmarks.
Studio features include 200+ expressive voices across 35+ languages. The platform supports custom pronunciation libraries and full creative control over timing and emphasis. Murf AI publishes use cases for customer service, sales, appointment booking, and hiring workflows, suggesting its Agents product is the primary differentiator.
Pricing is less uniform than ElevenLabs. Murf AI offers a free trial without commercial license, a pay-as-you-go model at $0.03 per 1,000 characters (minimum purchase), and tiered plans including Creator at $19 per month with annual billing and $29 per month with monthly billing. The exact monthly feature limits and credit allocations for each tier are not published in the official pricing documentation.
A strength is the low entry point for API-first users. The 1 cent per minute pricing for the TTS API is competitive for developers building agents. However, a limitation is that Murf AI’s published pricing lacks transparency compared to ElevenLabs. The official pricing page does not specify monthly credit amounts, feature limits, or concurrent request caps for named plans. Users must contact sales or visit the help center for detailed plan specifications, which adds friction to the purchasing process.
Price and plans
ElevenLabs publishes clear pricing across seven tiers. The Free plan costs $0 and includes 10,000 credits. Starter is $6 per month for 30,000 credits. Creator is $22 per month ($11 first month) for 121,000 credits. Pro is $99 per month for 600,000 credits. Scale is $299 per month for 1.8 million credits and 3 workspace seats. Business is $990 per month for 6 million credits and 10 seats. Enterprise pricing is custom. Annual billing offers a 2-month discount across all self-serve tiers.
Murf AI’s pricing structure is less transparent in official documentation. The free plan offers a limited trial. Pay-as-you-go is available at $0.03 per 1,000 characters (minimum purchase). The Creator plan costs $19 per month with annual billing and $29 per month with monthly billing according to third-party sources, though exact features are not specified on the official pricing page. Business and Enterprise plans require contacting sales.
Cost comparison hinges on usage. An ElevenLabs Creator user generating 100,000 characters per month would spend $22. On Murf AI pay-as-you-go, the same usage costs $3, but the user may lack premium features. Murf AI users prioritizing features are likely to pay $19 monthly or higher, approaching ElevenLabs Creator pricing. At production scale, both platforms move users toward enterprise negotiations.
Which one should you choose
Choose ElevenLabs if you need a multipurpose creative suite. If you combine text-to-speech with dubbing, music generation, voice isolation, or sound effects, the shared credit pool simplifies budgeting and billing. The platform is better for users who value feature transparency and clear monthly limits. Choose ElevenLabs if you prioritize 74-language support and large voice libraries or if you need team collaboration and workspace features at mid-tier pricing.
Choose Murf AI if you are a developer building real-time conversational agents or voice APIs. The sub-100ms latency and agent-focused architecture suit use cases like customer support bots, sales calls, or appointment scheduling. Choose Murf AI if you want lower baseline costs on pure text-to-speech output and prefer a simpler per-character pricing model. Choose Murf AI if voice agent capabilities and 35+ languages are sufficient for your scope.
Choose neither if you need specialized enterprise features like HIPAA compliance or on-premise deployment; both offer custom plans, but you should evaluate trial periods or request demos to confirm feature fit.
Common questions
Is Murf AI better than ElevenLabs?
Neither platform is universally better. The choice depends on use case. According to third-party sources, ElevenLabs produces more natural-sounding voices overall, while Murf AI offers faster API response times and stronger agent capabilities. For voiceover production and creative control, users report Murf AI provides finer editing and timing options. For voice quality and breadth of tools, ElevenLabs ranks higher in comparisons.
How much does Murf AI cost?
Murf AI’s official pricing page does not specify monthly plan costs in detail. According to third-party sources, the Creator plan starts at $19 per month with annual billing and $29 per month with monthly billing. Pay-as-you-go pricing is $0.03 per 1,000 characters (minimum purchase). Business and Enterprise plans require contacting sales. The free trial does not include a commercial license.
How many voices does each platform have?
ElevenLabs offers 500+ voices across 74 languages. Murf AI provides 200+ expressive voices across 35+ languages. ElevenLabs has a larger voice library and broader language support.
Which platform integrates better with third-party tools?
Both offer APIs for developers. ElevenLabs API integrates across all products and is available on all paid tiers. Murf AI APIs are designed for conversational agents and real-time TTS use cases. The choice depends on your tech stack and whether you need agent functionality or general-purpose voice synthesis. Official sources do not specify pre-built integrations with popular third-party platforms, so integration capability is roughly equivalent for custom builds.
The conclusion
ElevenLabs and Murf AI serve overlapping but distinct markets. ElevenLabs is the better fit for creators and small teams who want an all-in-one suite with transparent pricing, wide language support, and flexible credit allocation. Murf AI excels for developers and enterprises building voice agents, prioritizing API latency and real-time conversational AI.
The pricing gap narrows at scale. Free users should test both platforms to evaluate voice quality and feature relevance. For serious production use, ElevenLabs offers clearer cost predictability and more tool breadth, while Murf AI’s agent-focused design and lower per-character rates suit specific technical workflows. Request a demo or trial with the vendor that matches your primary use case before committing to a plan.
Related reading
AI Tool Herald may earn a commission from some links on this site. It never changes what we report or recommend. Affiliate disclosure
Related stories

Rewardful vs FirstPromoter: Affiliate Software
Compare Rewardful and FirstPromoter: pricing, features, billing integrations, and which affiliate platform fits your SaaS program.

Surfer SEO vs Clearscope: Content Optimization Tools
Compare Surfer SEO and Clearscope for content optimization. Learn features, pricing, and which fits your team's needs and budget.
Synthesia vs HeyGen: AI Avatar Video Creation
Compare Synthesia and HeyGen for AI avatar video creation. Learn features, pricing, and which platform fits your needs.
